

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF Environmental Protection

Bob Martinez Center 2600 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-2400 Ron DeSantis Governor

Jeanette Nuñez Lt. Governor

Alexis A. Lambert Secretary

Feb. 1, 2025

Subject: Annual Used Oil Handler Renewal Registration Notice

Dear Used Oil Handler,

Pursuant to Rule 62-710.500, Florida Administrative Code, all used oil and filter transporters, used oil and filter transfer facilities, used oil and filter processors, marketers, off-spec burners and end users - collectively called used oil handlers - must annually register their used oil handling activities with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). Registration must occur no later than March 1 of each year. Instructions for completing new registrations or registration renewals are attached in this notice.

Please note that used oil handlers not registered by June 30 of each year are unauthorized to transport or market used oil or used oil filters or burn off-specification used oil in the state of Florida. Used oil handlers transporting without a valid registration is a violation of state law subject to the revocation provisions of Sections 403.087(7) and 120.60, Florida Statutes (F.S.).

Request for additional information (RAI) notices from the DEP must receive a response within 15 days of the date of RAI notice unless a written request for additional time to provide the requested information is submitted and approved. Pursuant to Section 120.60, F.S., failure of an applicant to provide the timely requested information by the applicable deadline may result in denial of the application.

If you have an office location or location for parking your trucks in the state of Florida, please provide the full location address in the comment section on Page 7 of the 8700-12 FL notification form.

Once the DEP reviews are complete, a new used oil handler registration certificate will be emailed to you and to used oil handlers who are also hazardous waste transporters.

Visit the DEP website to learn about online and paper registrations.

Contact Janet Ashwood, at 850-245-8789 or email at <u>Janet.Ashwood@FloridaDEP.gov</u> for questions or assistance.

Sincerely,

ganet k. Ashwood

Janet Ashwood Used Oil Coordinator Waste Compliance Assistance Program

Online Registration Instructions Used Oil Handler Renewals Only

The registration period is July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, and must be completed by **June 30, 2025**.

Note: First-time used oil handler registrants, handlers who are also hazardous waste transporters or handlers wishing to notify of business closure must complete registration using the paper process. Refer to the paper registration instructions in the next section.

The option to renew your registration on-line is available through the <u>DEP's Business</u> <u>Portal</u>.

Prior to registering online, please have the following on hand:

- 1. Updated Certificate of Liability Insurance information in the department's database. Submit an updated original Certificate of Liability Insurance form (Form 62-730.900(5)(a) for review and approval prior to registering online.
- 2. The used oil annual report information for 2024. You will be required to enter the information online as you fill out the registration.
- 3. A check or credit card (Visa or Mastercard) to pay the \$100 registration fee on-line via the department's secured website.

Below are the steps on how to renew your Used Oil Handler registration online. You can click <u>Help</u> for additional information at any time during the process. If you do not complete the online process in one day, the portal will save the information you entered.

- Go to <u>DEP Business Portal</u>.
- First-time users: Click on Register in upper right corner. Enter information in the required fields, then click Register. An email will be sent to the address entered on this registration page. The email will include a computer-generated password. Click on the link in the email. Sign in by entering your email address and password.
- Now, click on Apply, and then Get Licensed. Click on Used Oil Handler. If you haven't logged in since you initially registered to use the portal, you will be prompted to change your password.
- Enter an application friendly name, which can only be used once. Save and Go to Next Step. Continue the online registration process.

You can exit the portal at any time. When ready to continue with the registration process, sign back into the DEP Business Portal and click on the Home button at the top to Continue a Work in Progress.

Upon completion of the online registration, a new used oil handler certificate and a copy of your used oil annual report information will be sent to you electronically.

Paper Registration Instructions First-Time Used Oil Handler Registrations or Renewals

Please Note: The 8700-12 FL Notification Form has changed, and it is now 10 pages long dated 12/2019.

The documents listed below are required for registration for the period of July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, and must be submitted to the Department by **March 1, 2025**.

- Florida Notification of Regulated Waste Activities (Form 62-730.900(1) (b) 8700-12 FL), which also includes the Certification statement on Page 7 (a separate training manual statement is no longer required).
- Used Oil and Used Oil Filter Handlers Annual Report (Form 62-710.901(3)) (not required for first-time registrants)
- Certificate of Liability Insurance for Hazardous Waste Transporters and Used Oil Transporters (Form 62-710.901(5)(a)). Used Oil transporters are required to provide an insurance form for the automobile liability inclusive of pollution liability coverage. In the event your automobile and pollution are separate policies, then we will need you to submit two separate insurance forms. You are required to maintain valid liability insurance coverage during the entire used oil registration period.
- **Registration fee of \$100 per facility** in the form of check or money order made payable to Florida Department of Environmental Protection. The registration fee is waived for used oil processing facilities for which a permit fee was paid under Rule 62-710.800, F.A.C.

The forms listed above can be found on the DEP's Used Oil Recycling webpage.

Mail the completed forms with the **original hand signed signatures** to the address listed at the top of the 8700-12 FL Notification Form.

Instructions for Hazardous Waste Transporter Renewal Using Paper Registration Forms

Used Oil Handlers who are also hazardous waste transporters must register or renew using the paper registration process.

The documents listed below are required for registration for the period of July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, and must be submitted to the Department by **March 1, 2025**.

Florida Notification of Regulated Waste Activities (Form 62-730.900(1) (b) 8700-12 FL) and one or more of the following forms:

- Certificate of Liability Insurance for Hazardous Waste Transporters and Used Oil Handlers (Form 62-730.900(5)(a))
- Hazardous Waste Transporters Liability Endorsement (Form 62-730.900(5)(b))
- Hazardous Waste Transporter Liability Surety Bond (Form 62-730.900(5)(c))

The forms listed above can be found on the <u>DEP's Transporters of Hazardous and</u> <u>Universal Wastes webpage</u>.

Mail the completed forms with the **original hand signed signatures** to the address listed at the top of the 8700-12 FL Notification Form.