Ron DeSantis GOVERNOR



Dane Eagle SECRETARY

November 9, 2022

Ms. Alex Reed, Director
Office of Resilience and Coastal Protection
Florida Department of Environment
Protection
3900 Commonwealth Boulevard
Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Dear Ms. Reed:

As required by Chapter 2022-89, Section 2, Laws of Florida, the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) herein provides a list of local governments that are required to comply with the requirements of Section 163.3178(2)(f), Florida Statutes (F.S.), but have not yet addressed said statute. This Section requires coastal local governments to include within their comprehensive plans' coastal management element a redevelopment component, which outlines the principles that must be used to eliminate inappropriate and unsafe development in the coastal areas when opportunities arise. This list of local governments is provided to support the Florida Department of Environmental Protection's preparation efforts for a report regarding flood resilience and mitigation efforts in the state.

Since the aforementioned statutory requirement for the coastal management element was approved in 2015, DEO has routinely provided technical assistance to local governments in addressing this provision. Community Planning Technical Assistance Grants have also been made available to provide financial assistance in addressing this requirement. Additionally, in August 2022, a workshop to assist interested coastal local governments in understanding their responsibilities in addressing this requirement was conducted by DEO staff. As of October 12, 2022, and based on the best available data in DEO's records, the local governments who have not yet fully addressed the requirements of Section 163.3178(2)(f), F.S. are as follows:

City of Apalachicola (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Bay County (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Town of Bay Harbor Island (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Belleair Beach (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Belleair Bluffs (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Callaway (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Cape Coral (Proposed amendment submitted in June 2022 and no concerns raised)

City of Carrabelle

Charlotte County (Proposed amendment submitted in March 2022 and no concerns raised/Adopted amendment submitted October 2022)

City of Dania Beach

City of Deerfield Beach (Proposed amendment submitted in April 2022 and concerns raised)

Florida Department of Economic Opportunity | Caldwell Building | 107 E. Madison Street | Tallahassee, FL 32399 (850) 245.7105 | www.FloridaJobs.org | www.Twitter.com/FLDEO | www.Facebook.com/FLDEO

City of Fort Myers (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Town of Fort Myers Beach

Franklin County (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Town of Golden Beach

Town of Grant Valkaria (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Gulf County

City of Hollywood (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Indian Creek Village

Jefferson County (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Town of Key Biscayne (indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Key Colony Beach (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Layton (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Lighthouse Point

City of Lynn Haven (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Madeira Beach (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Town of Manalapan

City of Miami (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of New Port Richey

Town of North Redington Beach (Proposed amendment submitted October 2022 under review)

City of Oakland Park (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Ormond Beach (Proposed amendment submitted October 2022 under review)

Town of Palm Beach Shores (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Palm Coast

Village of Palmetto Bay (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Panama City

Pasco County (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Pensacola (Proposed amendment submitted July 2022 and no concerns raised/Amendment adoption scheduled for November 10, 2022)

Pinellas County (Proposed amendment submitted June 2022 and concerns raised)

City of Port Richey

Sarasota County

Town of Shalimar

Town of South Palm Beach (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of South Pasadena (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Springfield (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

Town of St. Lucie Village

City of St. Petersburg Beach (Indicated amendment will be prepared)

City of Treasure Island (Proposed amendment submitted August 2022 and no concerns raised)

City of Valparaiso

Please be advised the status of these local governments is subject to change as many of the identified jurisdictions have indicated they are preparing future amendments to address this statutory requirement. If you have any questions concerning this list, please contact Melissa Corbett, Community Resilience Planner, by telephone at (850) 717-8505 or by email at Melissa.Corbett@DEO.MyFlorida.com.

Sincerely,

ames D. Stansbury, Chief

Bureau of Community Planning and Growth

JDS/mc

cc: Dr. Wesley Brooks, Chief Resilience Officer, Executive Office of the Governor