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What is the purpose of this form? 
This form is used to notify the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP) 
of regulated waste activities taking place at sites located in Florida.  It is designed to help 
generators, transporters and processors of hazardous waste, universal waste and used oil 
meet both the federal and state notification requirements.  It is also used to update 
information previously supplied to FDEP, and to notify FDEP when the facility closes, goes 
out of business, and other changes.  

Who must fill out this form? 
The Florida hazardous waste rules require that certain information be submitted by any site 
that generates hazardous waste, transports hazardous waste, or operates a  treatment/
storage/disposal facility (TSDF) for hazardous waste. Included are facilities that manage, in 
any month, over 100 kilograms (kg) [220 pounds (lbs.)] of hazardous waste regulated under the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), or 1 kg of acute RCRA hazardous waste; or 
5,000 kg (11,000 lbs.) or more of combined universal waste on-site at any one time. Sites 
that manage, transport and/or process used oil must notify; generators of used oil destined for 
recycling do not need to notify. This form should also be used to notify FDEP of changes in 
previously submitted information, including status of hazardous waste generators.  

An EPA identification number must be obtained before beginning hazardous waste activities, 
except for, Very Small Quantity Generators (VSQGs) who are exempted from the regulations 
under Title 40 Code of Federal Regulations (262.14). VSQGs generate no more than 100 kg (220 
lbs.) of hazardous waste in any month.

Temporary/Emergency identification numbers are handled by the FDEP district offices. If you 
need a Temporary/Emergency identification number for a one-time generation of hazardous 
waste or for an emergency clean-up, contact the district office handling the county in which 
your hazardous waste generation will occur.   
See the attached FDEP Regulatory District Map for contact information 
(https://floridadep.gov/districts).  

Where can I get help filling out this form?  
In addition to reading these instructions, you can obtain further guidance in filling out this 
form by:  

• Visiting our website where you will find an electronic version of this document and
additional notification information at: https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-
compliance-assistance/forms/8700-12fl-florida-notification-regulated-waste-activity.

• Completing the form electronically via the DEP Business Portal:
https://www.fldepportal.com/DepPortal/go/home

https://floridadep.gov/districts
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/forms/8700-12fl-florida-notification-regulated-waste-activity
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/forms/8700-12fl-florida-notification-regulated-waste-activity
https://www.fldepportal.com/DepPortal/go/home.%E2%80%A2
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• Calling us at 850-245-8707 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. We can help
you.

Where do I send this form once completed?  
Please mail signed form and any related correspondence to: 

EPA ID Notification Coordinator 
Hazardous Waste Program MS 4560 

Department of Environmental Protection 
         2600 Blair Stone Road 
 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400 

After I submit this form, will I hear back from you? After we have entered your information 
into our database, you should receive a confirmation letter from us within two weeks. If you 
do not receive a confirmation letter stating that we received your notification form within 30 
days of sending it to us, please call the hazardous waste program at (850) 245-8707.  

To start filling out this form, please place any Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
identification number that was previously assigned to your site address in the box in the upper 
left-hand corner of the notification form. If you are not sure whether your site already has an 
identification number, please contact the district office serving your county for assistance in 
searching our database (https://floridadep.gov/districts). If, to your knowledge, your site has 
never been assigned a number, please leave the box blank and we will provide you with a new 
number. Please continue through each item on this form to supply us with the necessary 
information to assign a number for your site.  

Item 1.  Choose the correct box to indicate the reason for submittal. 

New EPA ID Number:  Mark an “X” in this box if this is (as far as you know) the first time a 
notification form has been submitted for this site address.   

Update Status:  Mark an “X” in this box if this form is to update or change information that 
was previously supplied on a notification form. Provide updated status and facility 
identification information in pertinent sections of the form.   

Final Notification:  Mark an “X” in this box if this facility has closed or moved and this is the 
last notification form for this site address. Note:  all applicable items of this form must be 
completed even if the facility has closed or moved.  

Electronic Manifest Broker:  Mark an “X” in this box if the facility is (as far as you know) the 
first time a notification form has been submitted for this site. 

Part A for Permitted Facility: Mark an “X” in this box if the facility is submitting as part of 
new or revised Part A Permit Application.  

FL Registration(s):  Mark an “X” in this box if this facility is a UW Mercury, HW Transporter 
and/or Used Oil.  

https://floridadep.gov/districts
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Item 2. Facility or Business Name 

Provide the legal company name of your facility as it will appear on your manifests. If the 
company is doing business under another name (d/b/a), include this information on this line 
and indicate which name will appear on the manifest  

Item 3. Facility Physical Location Information   

Provide the complete location address (number, street name, city, and county) of the site. This 
must be a physical address, not a post office box or rural route number. If the facility cannot be 
assigned a street name and number, attach a legal description of the property and its parcel 
number as assigned by the county Property Appraiser. If the mailing address (Item 4) and 
facility operator (Item 8) address are the same, check the same box and indicate which item 
number it matches. Note: A new EPA Identification Number is required if your site location 
changes.  

Item 4. Facility or Business Mailing Address   

Provide the mailing address of the facility.  If the mailing address (Item 4) and the physical 
location (Item 3) and/or facility operator (Item 8) address are the same, check the same box 
and indicate which item number it matches.  

Item 5. Facility North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code(s): 

Box A Provide the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code that best 
describes the primary products or services provided by your facility.  
Boxes B – D List other NAICS codes that describe the primary products and services 
provided by your facility.  

You can obtain NAICS codes from the following sources: 
 NAICS website at http://www.naics.com,
 Income Tax Form 1120 series,
 Some libraries, or
 From our department (by request).

Item 6. Facility or Business RCRA Contact Person  

Enter the name, title, telephone number and extension, e-mail address, and mailing address of 
the employee who should be contacted regarding this site’s hazardous and regulated waste 
activities.  If the mailing address is the same in any of the above items, check the same box and 
indicate which item number it matches. A Point of Contact (POC) for hurricane notifications 
must be selected either in Item 6, Item 8, or both. DO NOT enter the name of your facility’s 
hazardous waste contractor.  

Item 7. Real Property Owner  

For all owners of this site, please provide the following information: 
• Legal Owner Name
• Date Became an Owner (mm/dd/yy)
• Complete mailing address

http://www.naics.com/
http://www.naics.com/
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• Phone number
• E-Mail
• Owner Type:  Mark an “X” in the box that best describes the owner type. If you have an

owner/operator type not listed, please mark an “X” in the “Other” box and write the
appropriate owner/operator type in the space provided.

We have provided room for one owner/operator; please list additional owners/operators in the 
Comments section (Item 18) on page 7 or attach additional sheets.  

Item 8. Facility Operator   
Enter the name of the facility operator, the “Date Became Operator” (mm/dd/yy), complete 
mailing address, and put an “X” in the operator-type box that applies to the facility. The 
operator is the person responsible for the overall operation of an RCRA facility. Note:  Florida 
Statutes define the term person as “any and all persons, natural or artificial, including any 
individual, firm, or association; any municipal or private corporation organized or existing under 
the laws of this state or any other state; any county of this state; and any governmental 
agency of this state or the Federal Government.” The facility operator is the legal entity that 
controls the RCRA operation rather than the plant or facility manager. This is usually a 
company or business name, not an individual.  A Point of Contact (POC) for hurricane 
notifications must be selected either in Item 6, Item 8, or both. List additional operators in the 
Comments section on page 7. 

Type of Regulated Waste Activity:  

Item 9. RCRA Hazardous Waste Activities at this Facility  Mark an “X” in all that apply.  

(1) Generator of Hazardous Waste

a. Large Quantity Generator (LQG)
Mark an “X” in this box if your site meets any of the following criteria, at least once a
year.

o Generates in any one calendar month 1,000 kg (2,200 lbs) or more of
hazardous waste,

o Generates in any one calendar month or accumulates at any one time, more
than 1 kg (2.2 lbs) of acute hazardous waste, or

o Generates in any one calendar month, or accumulates at any one time, more
than 100 kg (220 lbs) of spill cleanup material contaminated with RCRA acute
hazardous waste.

b. Small Quantity Generator (SQG)
Mark an “X” in this box if your site generates in any calendar month more than 100 kg/
month but less than 1,000 kg/month (220 lbs to 2,200 lbs) of non-acute hazardous
waste, and/or 1 kg (2.2 lbs) or less of acute hazardous waste and/or more than 100 kg
(220 lbs) of any acute hazardous spill cleanup material.
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c. Very Small Quantity Generator (VSQG)
Mark an “X” in this box if your site generates in any one calendar month 100 kg/month
or less (220 lbs) of non-acute hazardous waste and/or less than 1 kg (2.2 lbs) of acute
hazardous waste, and has not accumulated at any one time more than 1,000 kg of
hazardous waste or 1 kg of acute hazardous waste.

d. Short-Term Generator
Mark an “X” in this box if your site is a one-time generator and is not considered on-
going.

e. Mixed Waste Generator
Mark an “X” in the box if you are a generator of mixed waste (waste that is both
hazardous and radioactive). RCRA defines “mixed waste” as waste that contains both
hazardous waste and source, special nuclear, or by-product material subject to the
Atomic Energy Act (AEA).

f. United States Importer of Hazardous Waste
Mark an “X” in the box if you import hazardous waste from another country into the
United States. Refer to 40 CFR §262.60 for additional information.

g. LQG Consolidation of VSQG Hazardous Waste
Mark an “X” in the box if you are an LQG notifying of VSQG Hazardous Waste Under
Control of the Same Person pursuant to 40 CFR 262.17 (f).  (Addendum A Required).

h. Episodic Generator
Mark an “X” in this box if your site has no more than 1 episodic higher quantity waste
generation event per year and indicate if this episodic event is an SQG or an LQG
quantity. An episodic higher quantity waste generation event is the generation in any
one month of the minimum quantity to place the facility into a higher status (100 kg for
SQG, 1,000kg or 1 kg of acute waste for LQG). For examples: If your facility generally
generates 20 kg/month except for an annual cleanout of 1,200 kg, you would be a VSQG
and an Episodic LQG. If the facility generated the 1200 kg twice (or more) a year you
would be an LQG and not Episodic. If the 20 kg facility generated 120 kg every 2 or 3
years you would be a VSQG and an Episodic SQG. If your facility generally generates 120
kg/month except for a clean-out every 2 or 3 years of the 1,200 kg, you would be an
SQG and an Episodic LQG. (Addendum B Required). Attached is the Episodic SOP link -
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/episodic-
generation-sop.

i. Electronic Manifest Broker
Mark an “X” in this box if you are as defined in 40 CFR 260.10 electing to use EPA
electronic manifest system to obtain, complete, and transmit an electronic manifest
under a contractual relationship with a hazardous waste generator.

https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/episodic-generation-sop
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/episodic-generation-sop


Item 9. (2) Treater, Storer, or Disposer of Hazardous Waste 
Do not complete this section, if the following are true:  

(1) your facility hires another company to transport hazardous wastes to a TSDF facility, and

(2) storage or treatment of hazardous waste at your facility complies with the generator
requirements in 40 CFR §262.17, and

(3) your facility does not have any post-closure or corrective action obligations.

If you have a permit to treat, store, or dispose of regulated hazardous waste at your facility, or 
if your facility is not permitted to treat, store or dispose of regulated hazardous but your facility 
has ongoing post-closure or corrective obligations via a permit or consent order (Hazardous and 
Solid Waste Amendments (HSWA), etc.), mark an “X” in the correct box or boxes. (Burning 
hazardous wastes in boilers and industrial furnaces and storing hazardous wastes before 
recycling fall into this category including activities that require a permit. Disposal may include 
the presence of contaminated media at or under your facility.) A hazardous waste permit is 
required for the operating TSD activities and may be required for post-closure or corrective 
action.  Call our hazardous waste permitting staff at (850) 245-8721 for more details.  

Item 9. (3) Recycler of Hazardous Waste 
If you recycle regulated hazardous waste or recyclable materials, mark an “X” in this box and 
specify whether you are a commercial or non-commercial recycler. In some cases, a permit is 
required for this activity. You may contact our hazardous waste permitting staff at (850) 
245-8721 for more details.

Item 9. (4) Exempt Boiler and/or Industrial furnace 
a. If you burn small quantities of hazardous waste in an on-site boiler or industrial

furnace in accordance with the conditions in 40 CFR §266.108, mark an “X” in this
box to indicate that you qualify for the Small Quantity On-Site Burner Exemption.

b. If you process hazardous wastes in a smelting, melting, or refining furnace solely for
metals recovery, as described in 40 CFR §266.100(d), or to recover economically
significant amounts of precious metals, as described in 40 CFR §266.100(g), or if you
process hazardous wastes in a lead recovery furnace to recover lead, as described in
40 CFR §266.100(h), mark an “X” in this box to indicate that you qualify for the
Smelting, Melting, and Refining Furnace Exemption.

Item 9. (5) Person Authorized to Manage Very Small Quantity Waste generated at other 
facilities  
Mark an “X” in this box if you consolidate hazardous waste from sites that generate no more 
than 100 kg (220 lb.) of hazardous waste per month. If you choose this box, attach the 
appropriate documents indicating authorization.  

Item 9. (6) Receives Hazardous Waste from Offsite  
Mark an “X” in this box if you receive hazardous waste from offsite. 
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Item 9. (7) Underground Injection Control (UIC)  
If you generate, treat, store, or dispose of hazardous waste and there is an underground 
injection well located at your site, mark an “X” in this box, even if the UIC well is not used for 
disposal of hazardous waste. The Federal regulations for operators or owners of underground 
injection wells are found in 40 CFR Part 148. Contact the Department for permit information.  

Item 9. (8) Recognized Trader 
Mark an “X” in the box if you are a recognized trader, defined in 40 CFR 260.10 as a person 
domiciled in the United States, by the site of business, who acts to arrange and facilitate 
transboundary movements of wastes destined for recovery or disposal operations, either by 
purchasing from and subsequently selling to the United States and foreign facilities or by acting 
under arrangements with a United States waste facility to arrange for the export or import of 
the wastes. Mark all that apply. 

Item 9. (9) Importer/Exporter of Spent Lead-Acid Batteries (SLABs) under 40 CFR Subpart G  
Mark an “X” in the box if you are an importer or exporter of spent lead-acid batteries (SLABs) 
being managed domestically under 40 CFR 266 Subpart G to obtain an EPA Identification 
number (see 40 CFR 266.80(a)(6), (8) – (10)). Mark all that apply.  

Item 10. Waste Codes   
List the appropriate waste codes as they are listed in 40 CFR Part 261. If you are unsure of 
wastes or waste numbers, contact your transporter or the Department’s Hazardous Waste 
Program staff at (850) 245-8721.  
Here is a useful link for filling out waste codes: https://www.epa.gov/hw/defining-hazardous-waste-
listed-characteristic-and-mixed-radiological-wastes 

Item 11. Other Status Changes  
If no longer handling waste or closed, sections 9 and 10 should be blank, and skip Sections 
12-16.

Item 11. A. Central Accumulation Area (CAA) or Facility Closed 
Central Accumulation Area (CAA): Mark an “X” in this box if are closing a central accumulation 
area. 
Facility Closed:  Mark an “X” in the box if all business activities at this facility have ceased. 

Item 11. B. Closure Dates 

(1) Expected closure date: Mark an “X” in the box and provide the date that you are
expected to close the CAA or the entire facility.

(2) Request new closure date: Mark an “X” in the box if you cannot complete the closure
of CAA or the facility within 90 days of starting the closure process and indicate a
“new” closure date. Explain why you are requesting the additional time in the Item 19
Comment section.

(3) Date of closure: Mark an “X” in the box to provide the date of closure of the CAA or
facility.

http://www.gecap.org/pdf/hazardouswastecodes.pdf


a. Mark an “X” in the box to indicate if the CAA or facility closed in compliance with
closure performance standards in 40 CFR262.17(a)(8).

b. Mark an “X” in the box to indicate if the CAA or facility closed but failed to meet
closure performance standards in 40 CFR 262.17(a)(8).

Item 11. C.  Property Tax Default  
Mark an “X” in the applicable box. 

Item 11. D. Bankruptcy:   
Mark an “X” in the applicable box. 

Item 12. Universal Waste (UW) Activities  
UW’s are specific hazardous wastes that may be managed under the streamlined hazardous 
waste regulations in 40 CFR §273 and state rules. In Florida, universal wastes include most 
rechargeable batteries; pesticides that are recalled or collected under a pesticide waste 
collection program; mercury-containing thermostats and devices such as manometers and 
switches; mercury-containing lamps such as fluorescent lamps that are recycled; and aersols 
cans that can dispense a broad range of products such as paints, solvents, and pesticides  

Item 12. A. Federal Notification  
Mark an “X” in all boxes that apply to each UW accumulated at your site at any one time: 

o If you accumulate 5,000 kg (11,000 lbs.) or more total of any one type of UW or all types
of UW combined, you will be considered a Large Quantity Handler (LQH) of UW.

o For mercury-containing lamps, 4 lamps = 1 kg [62-737.200(10), F.A.C.]
o For the Destination Facility for universal waste the facility must treat, dispose or recycle

universal waste. A permit is required for storage prior to recycling. Please call our
hazardous waste permitting staff at (850) 245-8721 for more details.

Item 12. B. Hazardous Waste Pharmaceutical Activities
Florida has adopted by reference EPA’s Management Standards for Hazardous Waste 
Pharmaceuticals and Amendment to the P075 Listing for Nicotine 40 CFR 266 Subpart P which 
became effective in Florida on August 21, 2019.  

Healthcare facilities and reverse distributors are required to notify DEP using the 8700-12FL 
Florida Notification Form, either by submission of a completed and signed document or 
electronically via the DEP Business Portal (https://www.fldepportal.com/DepPortal/go/home) 
to indicate that they are operating under 40 CFR Part 266 Subpart P (266.502). 

Item 12. C. Florida Annual Mercury Handler Registration:  
For-hire transporters, transfer facilities, handlers, reclamation, and recovery facilities, and 
destination facilities of Mercury-Containing lamps and devices in the State of Florida are 
required to register annually with the Department using this section of the form [Chapter 62-
737, F.A.C.]. A one-time fee of $1,000 is required for initial registration as a Large Quantity for-
hire Handler of Mercury-Containing lamps and devices as detailed below (please contact 
Universal Waste/Mercury Section at (850) 245-8778).  
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 If you only generate lamps and/or devices or manage pharmaceuticals, do not register or 
complete the information below.    

Item 12. C. (1) Florida Registration of Universal Waste (UW) Transporter/Handler for-hire 
Mark an “X” in all boxes that apply to the facility.  

If you accumulate less than 5,000 kg (11,000 lbs.) of any one type of UW you will be considered 
a Small Quantity Handler (SQH) of UW.  

Reminder if the facility is a For-hire Transporter/Transfer Facility of Universal Waste Mercury-
Containing Lamps or Devices, Mercury-containing devices (thermostats, etc.) SQH = less than 
100 kg accumulated by for-hire handler and/or Mercury-containing lamps SQH = less than 
2,000 kg (8,000 lamps) accumulated by for-hire handler.  You are required to submit an Annual 
Registration.  

If the facility is a Mercury-containing device(s) Large Quantity Handler (LQH) = 100 kg (220 lb.) 
or more accumulated at any one time by for-hire handler and/or Mercury-containing lamps 
LQH = 2,000 kg (4,400 lbs/8,000 lamps) or more accumulated by for-hire handler.  You’re 
required to submit an Annual report, a one-time $1,000 fee, and other requirements.  Please 
contact Universal Waste/ Mercury Section at (850) 245-8778 for these requirements.  

Item 12. C. (2) Mercury Recovery and/or Reclamation Facility 
Mark an “X” in the box that applies to this facility.  

Please note that a hazardous waste permit is required for this activity. Please contact the 
Universal Waste/Mercury Section at (850) 245-8778 for more information.  

Item 13. Other State Regulated Waste Activities  
Mark an “X” in the box that applies to what type of Petroleum Contact Water (PCW) that this 
facility handles.  

NOTE: A water facility permit may be required for this activity. An annual report is required for 
a recovery facility [62-740.300(5)]  

Item 14. Transporter of Hazardous Waste  

Transporters of and Transfer Facilities for Hazardous Waste in the State of Florida are required 
to register and annually renew their registration. Evidence of Casualty/Liability Insurance 
Pursuant to 62-730.170(2)(a) is required in addition to this registration.  Registered 
Transporters and Transfer Facilities may only begin operations after receiving approval from 
the Department.  

Generators of Hazardous waste who transport waste only within the boundaries of their facility 
should not register. The applicable Florida Hazardous Waste Rules can be obtained by calling 
(850) 245-8778. This section does not apply to a facility that hires another company to 
transport hazardous wastes from its site or to VSQGs who transport only their own wastes.
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Item 14. A. HW Transporter Registration information  

Mark an “X” in the box that applies to this facility (Initial notification, Renewal, Notification of 
changes and Cancel Registration).  

Mark an “X” in the box for only one of the following options: 
1. For own waste only
2. For commercial purposes
3. Both commercial and own waste

Transportation Mode:  Indicate all modes of transportation that you use by marking an “X” in 
the box in front of each mode of transportation that you use: air, rail, highway, water, and/or 
other.  If you choose the box in front of “Other,” specify the other mode of transportation on 
the line provided.  

Hazardous Waste Transporter Insurance Information:  Provide all the requested insurance 
information in the spaces provided.  If additional space is needed continue in the Comments 
section (Item 18) on page 7.  

Item 14. B. HW Transfer Facility Registration information  
Florida requires any location where hazardous waste is stored for more than 24 hours but ten 
days or less to be registered as a Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility and to renew that 
registration annually.  

Mark an “X” in the box that applies to this facility (Initial notification, Renewal, Notification of 
changes and Cancel Registration).  

NOTE: Hazardous Waste transfer facilities must comply with the requirements of Rule 62-
730.171, F.A.C., and Rule 62-730.182, F.A.C.  

Please indicate where the Transfer Facility records are kept Rule 62-730.171(6), F.A.C., and the 
EPA ID number of the HW Transporter who carries the insurance for this Transfer Facility.  

Item 14. C. Hazardous Waste Transfer Facilities  
In addition to the registration required for transfer facilities, the following items are required to 
be submitted with the initial notification for a transfer facility and any changed items must be 
submitted with any subsequent submission [Rule 62-730.171(3), Florida Administrative Code 
(F.A.C.)]:  

__Certification by a responsible corporate officer of the transporter that the proposed location 
satisfies the      
    criteria of Section 403.7211(2), Florida Statutes (F.S.) [Rule 62-730.171(3)(a)(1) F.A.C] 
__Evidence of the transporter's financial responsibility [Rule 62-730.171(3)(a)(3) F.A.C.]  
__A brief general description of the transfer facility operations [Rule 62-730.171(3)(a)(4) F.A.C.] 
__A copy of the facility closure plan [Rule 62-730.171(3)(a)(5) F.A.C.]  
__A copy of the contingency and emergency plan [Rule 62-730.171(3)(a)(6) 
F.A.C.]  
__A map or maps of the transfer facility [Rule 62-730.171(3)(a)(7) F.A.C.]  
July 2025 
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Item15. Eligible Academic Entities with Laboratories – Notification for opting into or 
withdrawing from managing laboratory hazardous waste pursuant to 40 CFR Part 262 Subpart 
K 

40 CFR Part 262, subpart K is an optional alternative set of requirements for eligible academic 
entities with laboratories. Certain generators (i.e., eligible academic entities as defined in 40 
CFR 262.200) are eligible to operate under Subpart K for the management of their hazardous 
wastes in laboratories in lieu of 40 CFR262.15 (or 40 CFR 262.14 for VSQGs).  Eligible academic 
entities with laboratories that generate hazardous waste that elect to opt into Subpart K, are 
currently operating under Subpart K, or subsequently withdraw from Subpart K must complete 
this section to meet the notification requirements of this subpart. Refer to 40 CFR 262.203 and 
40 CFR 262.204. 

NOTE:  Eligible academic entities with laboratories must complete a separate Site ID Form for 
each site (i.e., EPA Identification Number) that is managing hazardous waste under Subpart K. 
all laboratories with the same EPA Identification Number will be regulated under this 
Subpart.  If eligible academics with laboratories withdraw from Subpart K, all laboratories 
with the same EPA Identification Number associated with the withdrawal from Subpart K will 
be regulated under 40 CFR 262.15 (or 4 CFR 262.14 for VSQG). 

Item 15.1 Opting into or currently operating under 40 CFR Part 262 Subpart k for the 
management of hazardous waste in laboratories 

Mark an “X” in the box if you are an eligible academic entity and you elect to opt into or 
currently operating under 40 CFR Part 262, Subpart K for the hazardous wastes generated in 
your laboratories. Mark all that apply. 

(a). Mark an “X” in the box if you are an eligible college or university if you are a private or 
public, post-secondary, degree-granting, academic institution, that is accredited by an 
accrediting agency listed annually by the US Department of Education. 

(b). Mark an “X” in the box if you are an eligible teaching hospital if you are that trains 
students to become physicians, nurses, or other health personnel and is either: (1) 
owned by a college or university, or (2) has a master affiliation agreement and program 
letter of agreement, as defined by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical 
Education, with an accredited, medical program or medical school. 

(c). Mark an “X” in the box if you an eligible non-profit institute if you are an organization 
that conducts research as its primary function and files as a non-profit organization 
under the tax code of 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3) and is either: (1) owned by a college or 
university, or (2) has a formal written affiliation agreement with a college or university 
that establishes a relationship between institutions for the purposes of research and/or 
education and is signed by authorized representatives from each institution.  A 
relationship on a project-by-project or grant-by-grant basis is not considered a formal 
written affiliation agreement.  



Item 15.2 Withdrawing from 40 CFR Part 262 Subpart K for the Management of Hazardous 
Waste in Laboratories  

Mark an “X” in the box if you have previously elected to opt into 40 CFR Part 262, Subpart K and 
are now withdrawing from participation in this optional set of alternative requirements for 
hazardous waste generation in laboratories.  Withdrawing generators will automatically revert 
to regulation under 40 CFR 262.15 requirement (or 40 CFR 262.14 for VSQGs).  Explain your 
reasons for withdrawing from Subpart K in Item 18 - Comments section. 

Item 16. Used Oil (UO) and Oil Filter Activities  

Transporters (Exemptions in 40 CFR 279.40(a) (1-4), Transfer Facilities, Processors, Off-
Specification Burners, and/or Marketers must annually register with the Department using this 
form. All except FL UO Processors and Collection Centers must pay an annual $100 registration 
fee. If applicable, a check or money order, in the amount of $100, payable to the Florida 
Department of Environmental Protection is enclosed.  

NOTE: UO Collection Centers must also complete this section of the form (not as a registration). 

Item 16. (1) Indicate by marking an “X” in the box if this facility is one of the following 

a. Used Oil (UO) Transporter:  The State of Florida requires companies that transport used
oil in the state to register with the FDEP prior to such transportation and renew that
registration annually.  Used Oil Generators who transport more than 55 gallons at a time
must also notify as transporters.  Registration forms and the applicable rules can be
obtained by calling the Used Oil Coordinator at (850) 245-8789.  You are the transporter
of used oil if you transport it from one facility to another.

b. Transfer Facility:  If you own or operate a transportation-related facility, including
loading docks, parking areas, storage areas, and other areas where shipments of used oil
are held for more than 24 hours and less than 35 days during the normal course of
transportation, mark an “X” in this box.

Item 16. (2) Collection Center   

Mark an “X” in this box if you are a Used Oil (UO) Collection center (managing used oil collected 
from other used oil generators).  

Item 16. (3) If you are a Used Oil (UO) Processor, as defined in 40 CFR §279.50(a), or re-refine 
on- or off specification used oil, mark an “X” in the appropriate box.  This does not include 
generators processing UO generated on-site for on-site use.  A permit may be required for used 
oil processing.  You may contact our hazardous waste permitting staff at (850) 245-8721.  

Item 16 (3b) Mark an “X” in the box, if you are a Used Oil Re-refiner, as defined in 40 CFR 279, 
you refine used oil.       
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Item 16 (4) Off-Specification Used Oil Burner 

If you burn used oil fuel on site, and the oil does not meet the analytical standards of on-
specification used oil, but satisfies the rebuttable presumption defined in 40 CFR 
§279.10(b)(1)(ii), mark an “X” in the box.

Item 16 (5) Mark an “X” in the box, if this facility is a Used Oil Fuel Marketer, please indicate if 
it’s On-Spec or Off-Spec.  

If you market off-specification used oil directly to a burner, mark an “X” in the box labeled Off-
Spec.  If you are the first to claim the used oil meets the used oil specification established in 40 
CFR §279.11, mark an “X” in the box labeled On-Spec.  If either of these boxes is marked, you 
also must notify (or have previously notified) as a used oil transporter, used oil processor, or 
off-specification used oil fuel burner unless you are a used oil generator. Used oil generators 
are not required to notify.  

Item 16 (6) Mark an “X” in the box, if this facility is a Used Oil Filter Management as one of 
the following:  

a. Transporter

b. Transfer Facility

c. Processor (Annual Report Required)

d. End User

NOTE: these are required to annually register.  If you have any questions, please contact the 
Used Oil Coordinator at (850) 245-8789.  

Item 16 (7) Please indicate where the records are kept required under the provisions of Rule 
62-710.510, FAC.

Item 16 (8) Used Oil (UO) Transporters: (Exemptions in 40 CFR 279.40(a) (1-4))  

All registered UO Transporters and facilities must submit an annual report except UO 
Transporters within their own company.  UO Transporters transporting off-site over public 
highways only within their own company must submit proof of insurance.  UO Transporters 
transporting more than 500 gallons per year must submit proof of insurance annually and must 
sign and certify this submission as a UO Transporter in section 19 (except those exempted by 
Rule 62-710.600(1), F.A.C.).  

Please mark with an “X” if this facility has attached the used oil annual report is attached and/or 
Evidence of Liability Insurance pursuant to 62-710.600(2)(e)., F.A.C.  

Item 17 Notification of Hazardous Secondary Materials (HSM) Activity: (Addendum C 
Required) 

(1) Mark an “X” in the box if you are notifying under 40 CFR 260.42 that you will begin 
managing, are still managing, or will stop managing hazardous waste secondary material under 
40 CFR 260.30, 40 CFR 261.4(a)(23), (24), (25), or (27).
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(2) Mark an “X” in the box if you are notifying under 40 CFR 260.43(a)(4)(iii) that the product of
your recycling process has levels of hazardous constituents that are not comparable to or
unable to be compared to a legitimate product or intermediate but that the recycling is still
legitimate.

  HAZARDOUS SECONDARY MATERIAL (HSM) FACILITY CODES 

Facility codes describe the specific regulation a facility uses to manage its hazardous 
secondary material (HSM) and the type of activity the facility performs under the regulation 
(e.g., generator, reclaimer). Review the groups and pick appropriate code. If more than one 
facility code applies to you, enter each code on a separate row. 

     Under Generator Exclusion (40 CFR 261.4 (a)(23)) 
Code Facility Code Description 

01 HSM Generator reclaiming HWS “on-site”: This code applies if you generate and reclaim 
hazardous secondary materials at your generating facility. 

02 HSM Generator transferring HSM to reclaimer within the “same Company”: This code 
applies if you generate hazardous secondary material and sent the material for 
reclamation to a different facility that is either controlled by you or controlled by the same 
person that controls your generating facility. 

03 Reclaimer receiving HSM form HSM generator within the “same company”: This code 
applies if you receive and reclaim hazardous secondary material from a different facility 
that either controls you or is controlled by the same person that controls you.  

04 Tolling Contractor reclaiming HSM pursuant to a tolling contract: This code applies if you 
are a tolling contractor that reclaims hazardous secondary material pursuant to a written 
contract with a toll manufacturer. 

05 Toll Manufacturer managing HSM pursuant to a tolling contract: This code applies if you 
generate and send hazardous secondary material for reclamation to a tolling contractor 
pursuant to a written contract. 

Transfer-Based Exclusion (40 CFR 261.4 (a) (25)) 
Code Facility Code Description 

06 HSM Generator transferring HSM off-site to a domestic reclamation facility: This code 
applies if you generate and send hazardous secondary material for reclamation of an off-
site domestic reclamation facility. 

07 Reclaimer receiving HSM off-site: This code applies if you reclaim hazardous secondary 
material received form an off-site hazardous secondary generator or other facility and 
you certify that you have financial assurance per 40 CFR 260.42. 

08 Intermediate facility receiving HSM from off-site: This code applies if you receive 
hazardous secondary material from an 0ff-site hazardous secondary material generator 
or another facility, you store it for more than ten days, and you certify that you have 
financial assurance per 40 CFR 260.42. This code does not apply if you generate or 
reclaim the hazardous secondary material. 

Imports and Exports (40CFR 261.4 (a)(24) and (25)) 
Code Facility Code Description 

09 HSM Generator exporting HSM to a foreign entity for reclamation: This code applies if 
you generate and plan to send hazardous secondary material for reclamation to a foreign 
entity for reclamation and will meet the notice and consent procedures in 40 CFR 
261.4(a)(25). 
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10 HSM Generator importing HSM from a foreign entity to send to another U.S. facility for 
reclamation: This code applies if you import hazardous secondary material from a foreign 
entity and send the material to a different U.S. reclamation facility. 

11 HSM Generator importing HSM from a foreign entity for reclamation: This code applies if 
you import hazardous secondary material from a foreign entity and reclaim the material at 
your facility. 

Non-waste Determination and Solid Waste Variances (40 CFR 260.30) 
Code Facility Code Description 

14 Variance for Materials that are Accumulated Speculatively: This code applies if you 
operate under an approved variance from EPA or your State for materials that are 
accumulated speculatively without sufficient amounts being recycled (see 40 CFR 
260.31(a)). 

15 Variance for Materials that are Reclaimed and then Reused within the Original 
Production Process: This code applies if you operate under an approved variance from 
EPA or your State for materials that are reclaimed and then reused as feedstock within 
the original production process in which the materials were generated (see 40 CFR 
260.31(c)). 

16 Variance for Materials that are Partially-Reclaimed: This code applies if you operate 
under an approved variance from EPA or your State for materials that have been partially 
reclaimed but must be reclaimed further before recovery is completed if the partial 
reclamation has produced a commodity-like material (see 40 CFR 260.31(c)). 

17 [Reserved] 
18 [Reserved] 
19 [Reserved] 
20 Non-waste determination for HSM reclaimed in a continuous industrial process: This 

code applies if you operate under an approved non-waste determination from EPA or 
your State for hazardous secondary material which is reclaimed in a continuous industrial 
process (see 40 CFR 260.34 (b)). 

21 Non-waste determination for HSM that are indistinguishable from a product or 
intermediate: This code applies if you operate under the approved non-waste 
determination form EPA or your State for hazardous secondary materials which is 
indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or intermediate (see 40 CFR 
260.34 (c)). 

HAZARDOUS SECONDARY MATERIAL (HSM) LAND‐BASED UNIT CODES   
Determine the 2-digit code that best describes the land-based unit you use or will use to 
manage the hazardous secondary material. 

Code Land‐based Unit Code Description 
NA Do not use land‐based units to manage hazardous secondary material. 
SI Use surface impoundment(s) to manage hazardous secondary material. A surface 

impoundment is a natural topographic depression, man‐made excavation or diked area 
formed primarily of earthen materials (although it may be lined with man‐made materials), 
which is designed to hold an accumulation of liquid hazardous secondary materials or 
materials containing free liquids and which is not an injection well. 

PL Use pile(s) to manage hazardous secondary material. Pile means any non‐
containerized accumulation of solid, non‐flowing hazardous secondary material that is 
used for storage and is not a containment building. 

OT Use other land‐based unit(s) to manage hazardous secondary material. 
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Item 18 Comments:  
Use this space to provide additional information or suggestions. 

Item 19 Certification 

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared under my 
direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 
personnel properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. The information submitted 
is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 
are significant penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment for knowing violations.  

Also, mark an “X” in the box if the following applies to this facility: 
I certify as a UO Transporter that I am familiar with the applicable Florida and Federal 
laws and rules governing used oil transportation and have an annual and new 
employee training program in place covering the applicable UO rules. Evidence of 
financial responsibility is demonstrated by the UO Transporter Certificate of Liability 
Insurance, DEP form 62-710.901(4), F.A.C.  In addition, please check the UO box 
located between the Printed Name/Title and Date Signed.  

This certification must be signed by the owner, operator, or authorized representative of the 
facility.  In addition, type or print the name and corporate or job title.  If the person that 
completes this form is not the Facility Contact Person listed in Item 6 on Page 1 or the Facility 
Operator listed in Item 8, Page 2, please complete the information below the signature 
certification boxes to allow FDEP to more easily contact the correct person to make 
corrections or to complete missing information on this form.  


	What is the purpose of this form?
	Who must fill out this form?
	Where can I get help filling out this form?
	Where do I send this form once completed?


