
Reminders for Owner/Operators of Underground 
Storage Tank Systems

Chapter 62-761, Florida Administrative Code
Effective – October 13, 2019



The following presentation provides general reminders for owners and operators of underground 
storage tank (UST) systems with a storage capacity greater than 110 gallons which contain or 

contained regulated substances.

A “regulated substance” means a liquid at standard temperature and pressure that is a pollutant 
or a hazardous substance.

A “pollutant” means any “product” as defined in s. 377.19, Florida Statutes (F.S.), pesticides, 
ammonia, chlorine, and derivatives thereof, excluding liquefied petroleum gas.

A “product” means any commodity made from oil or gas (including by not limited to: gasoline, 
aviation gasoline, diesel, jet fuel, kerosene, and fuel oil).

Introduction

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0377/Sections/0377.19.html


Please note: The facility representative will need to open all equipment and operate electronic 
release detection consoles for the inspector during the inspection. Failure to provide access is a 
violation.

The facility shall provide a representative to access storage tank 
system components for inspection purposes and to demonstrate 
operational functionality of electronic equipment.

Access for Inspection 



WAS REQUIRED BY NO LATER THAN OCTOBER 13, 2018

• Each facility, including unmanned facilities, must designate a Class A, B, and C operator.

• Class A operator – has primary responsibility for a facility, such as the owner, and can operate one or more 
facilities.

• Class B operator – implements day-to-day tank operations, such as the facility operator or independent 
consultant. An independent consultant can operate up to 50 facilities and must also be a Certified 
Contractor or must be employed by a Certified Contractor. 

• Class C operator – controls dispensing of fuel, such as the manager/clerk, and must be trained for each 
facility independently.

• Class A and B operators must be re-trained if the Department issues an Notice of Violation for a significant 
issue (Financial Responsibility, construction, overfill/spill containment, and release detection).

Operator Training



Requirements
• Class A - C operators must complete approved training course, or Class C operators may 

receive training from Class B operators.

• Facilities must have a trained employee present during hours of operation, unless facility 
is unmanned.

• Unmanned facilities must have emergency information signage visible from any 
dispenser.

• Certificates of training must be maintained and available for inspection.

• Emergency contact numbers must be posted for Class C operators’ use and site specific 
response procedures must be accessible.

Operator Training



Installation/Closure/Change in Service

• Notify county 30-45 days prior to install (written).

• Confirm with county 48-72 hours prior to install (written).

Installation/Closure

• Provide a certified contractor form within 21 days after installation/removal.

Installation

• For new facility – register 30 days prior to install. 

• For existing facility – register 7 days prior to adding product.

Closure

• Register no later than 10 days after closure.

Registration/Notification



Other Notifications

• At least 30 days prior to switching to >10 % ethanol or 20% biodiesel (written).

• Register no later than 10 days after other changes.

• Within 72 hours of an Incident (written).

• Within 24 hours of a Discharge (written).

• Within 24 hours of a reportable pollutant releases (per 403.077, F.S.), notice is 
required to be made through the State Watch Office (by phone).    

Registration/Notification

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0400-0499/0403/Sections/0403.077.html


Florida Statute 376.3077
• It is unlawful for any owner, operator, or supplier to pump or otherwise deposit 

any motor fuel into a tank required to be registered under s. 376.303, F.S., 
unless proof of valid registration is displayed on such tank itself or the 
dispensing or measuring device connected thereto or, where appropriate, in 
the office or kiosk of the facility where the tank is located.

Delivery Prohibition
• No owner, operator, or supplier shall deposit any motor fuels into a storage 

tank system regulated under Chapter 62-761, Florida Administrative Code, 
unless that owner or operator has a valid, current registration placard issued 
by the Department covering that storage tank system. 

• Motor fuel means petroleum products used for the operation of a motor or 
engine.

Delivery Prohibition

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0376/Sections/0376.3077.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=376.303&URL=0300-0399/0376/Sections/0376.303.html
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=62-761


For the following non-compliance issues:

• Failure to install, operate and maintain release 
detection equipment.

• Failure to meet storage tank system construction 
requirements.

• Failure to respond to an ongoing discharge.
• Failure to maintain financial responsibility.

Placard Revocation



• Financial responsibility (FR) is the ability to pay for cleanup of a discharge of 
petroleum or petroleum product and for third-party liability resulting from the 
discharge.

• FR must be maintained until the regulated tank is closed and the Closure 
Report or the Limited Closure Report Form is submitted to and approved by the 
county or the Department. If FR is not maintained, then the UST must be closed 
within 90 days of termination of the financial mechanism.

• FR must be demonstrated by the owner or operator using the appropriate parts 
of DEP’s Financial Mechanisms Form 62-761.900(3). 

• The facility owner is liable in the event of noncompliance. 

Financial Responsibility



To Be Filled Out By Insurance Provider

Certificate of Insurance – Part D

Financial Responsibility



To Be Filled Out By Owner

Certificate of Financial Responsibility - Part P

Financial Responsibility



• An incident is a situation indicating that a release or discharge may have occurred.

• Per Rule 62-761.430(1)(a), Florida Administrative Code, incidents includes all the possible positive responses of 
release detection devices.

• Action to investigate an incident is required within 24 hours of discovery of the incident.

• The facility has 72 hours to report an incident (written or electronic). 

• An Incident Notification Form (INF) is not required to be submitted if it is confirmed that a discharge did not occur 
within 72 hours of discovery of the incident. However, records of findings must be kept for inspection.

• For cases where an INF is required (the incident is not resolved within 72 hours of discovery of the incident), the 
facility has 14 days to investigate the incident.  This timeframe may be extended with prior written approval from the 
Department or county.

• At the end of the 14 days or approved alternate time period, either written or electronic confirmation and 
explanation that a discharge has not occurred

Incidents



• Per Rule 62-761.440(1), Florida Administrative Code, discharges includes analytical 
confirmation of contamination in surface water, groundwater or soil or visible evident 
of a discharge (free product, sheen, sludge or emulsion).

• The owner or operator must report the discovery of a discharge to the county within 
24 hours.

• However, if it is thought that the discovery is a previously reported discharge, then 
the owner has 30 days to investigate and submit supporting documentation.

• Discharge Response:
• Identify and mitigate fire, explosion and vapor hazards.
• Immediate action to contain, remove and abate the discharge.
• Integrity test the effected system/component within 72 hours.
• Take the system out of service if the component causing the discharge cannot be 

isolated.

Discharges



Reporting
• In addition, pursuant to Section 403.077, F.S., the department has established 

a method for regulated entities to submit Public Notices of Pollution for 
reportable releases.

Additional Discharge Notification
• Conditions at the site that do not involve spills to navigable waters of the 

United States, or CERCLA hazardous substances, that pose an immediate 
threat to human health or the environment must be reported to: 
• The State Watch Office 1-800-320-0519, or 
• The Local Fire Department 911. 

• Anyone witnessing an oil spill or chemical release to navigable waters of the 
United States should call:
• National Response Center hotline 1-800-424-8802.

Discharges

https://floridadep.gov/pollutionnotice


For new installations:

• A containment integrity test shall be conducted for single-walled spill 
containment systems (e.g., spill buckets) and sumps.

• An interstitial integrity test shall be conducted for USTs.
• An interstitial integrity test shall be conducted for double-walled small 

diameter piping in contact with the soil or over surface waters of the state.
• An interstitial integrity test shall be conducted for double-walled spill buckets 

and sumps.

In general, the testing should be conducted following manufacturer’s requirements, if manufacturer’s 
requirements are not stated, then the applicable reference guidelines should be used.

Construction Requirements



For new USTs or piping installed in contact with the soil, a survey drawing signed and sealed by a 
professional land surveyor or engineer must be completed and maintained.

Construction Requirements



Storage tank systems that produce a gravity head on small diameter piping must be installed 
with anti-siphon valves.

Construction Requirements



Flow restrictors, such as ball float valves in vent lines may not be installed or replaced for use as 
overfill protection. 

Ball Float Valve

Construction Requirements



Note: owners/operators must designate a primary overfill device. Any additional devices cannot interfere with the primary 
device. The primary device must be registered with the Department with an Equipment Number (EQ) and be tested 

annually for proper operation.
This primary device should be documented (e.g., during monthly visual inspections) and this information may be requested 

by the inspector during an inspection.

Automatic Shutoff Device 
Flapper Valve

Flow Restrictor 
Ball Float Valve

Construction Requirements



USTs with capacities of 2,000 gallons or less that DO NOT receive delivery by a joined tight fill adaptor 
connection may use calibrated stick measurements for overfill protection, and are not required to be 
equipped with an overfill device, provided that an inches to gallons tank chart is posted at the tank fill area 
or readily available to the delivery driver. Such tanks shall not be filled beyond 95 percent capacity. 

Tight Fill Adaptor

Construction Requirements



Double-walled spill buckets, regardless of when installed, must be operated and maintained as 
double-walled.

Double-walled Spill Bucket

Release Detection Requirements



Piping and dispenser sumps that use electronic release detection must also be visually inspected 
every six months.

Release Detection Requirements



The rule now specifically requires that facilities maintain a monthly record of alarm history and 
sensor status for inspection. Each release detection alarm that occurs from a facility’s chosen 

form(s) of release detection must be investigated as an incident, and findings must be maintained 
for inspection.

Release Detection Requirements



Existing USTs that store fuel for generators were required to have release detection by no later 
than October 13, 2018. USTs installed after January 11, 2017, were required to have release 
detection upon installation.

Release Detection Requirements



Pressure readings shall be able to detect a 50% change from month to month or from the initial 
level. Vacuum systems shall be able to detect any complete loss of vacuum or positive pressure 

reading.

Release Detection Requirements



Annual operability testing of release detection equipment must be conducted at 
intervals not exceeding 12 months.

Release Detection Requirements



Repairs
• Repairs are required for any component of a storage tank system:

o That has had a release or discharge or contributed to a release or discharge of a 
regulated substance.

o That has an operational or structural problem that could potentially result in a 
release or discharge.

o Where groundwater or surface water is present in the interstice of a double-walled 
storage tank or integral piping.

• The storage tank system is required to cease operating, dispensing, and accepting 
deliveries unless the portion of the system requiring repair can be isolated from the 
rest of the system.

• If a storage tank system cannot be repaired within 90 days, it must be placed out-of-
service. 

• If it can’t be repaired within 365 days after that, it shall be permanently closed. 

Repairs, Operation and Maintenance



Operation - Periodic Integrity Testing

• Double-walled tanks and double-walled piping at the time of installation and 
at the time of any repairs.

• Piping/dispenser sumps and double-walled spill containment by October 13, 
2018, and every three years thereafter.

• Single-walled spill containment systems by January 11, 2018, and every 
year thereafter. 

• Piping and dispenser sumps over the surface waters of the state shall be 
tested by July 9, 2020, and every three years thereafter.

Repairs, Operation and Maintenance



Maintenance - Water in excess of one inch in sumps or spill buckets or any regulated substances 
must be removed within 72 hours of discovery.

Repairs, Operation and Maintenance



Records must be maintained for three years, unless required to be 
maintained until UST closure.

Please note following the records requirements:

• Release detection records must include a record of alarm history for electronic 
release detection devices.

• Class A, B, and C training certificates shall be maintained for as long as the 
operators are designated for the facility.

• Survey drawings shall be kept until closure of the component(s) surveyed.

Recordkeeping



• Out of service tanks must be registered as being out-of-service.

• Financial Responsibility must be maintained. If Financial Responsibility is not 
maintained or cannot be obtained, then the tank must be closed within 90 
days.

• The interstice of out of service tanks must be monitored every 12 months and 
records of this monitoring maintained.

• Other periodic testing (release detection, integrity and overfill) is not required 
while the tank is out-of-service, however all testing must be conducted prior to 
being placing back into service.

• Tanks that have been out-of-service for more than 2 years are required to 
conduct interstitial integrity testing prior to being placing back into service.

Out-of-Service Requirements



• Single-walled USTs and piping in contact with the soil that are discovered must 
be closed and undergo closure sampling during closure.

• Double-walled USTs, double-walled piping, dispenser/piping sumps and spill 
containment devices in contact with the soil must undergo a closure integrity 
evaluation no more than 45 days prior to closure to determine if closure 
sampling is required.

• In cases where closure integrity evaluation is required, the closure integrity 
report must be submitted to the county with closure notification prior to actual 
closure (30-45 days prior).

• Closed tanks must be registered as being removed from the facility or properly 
closed in-place.

Closure Requirements



• If a closure integrity evaluation is required but not conducted, then closure 
sampling is required.

• In cases where closure sampling is required, a closure report will be due to the 
county within 60 days.

• In cases where closure sampling is not required, a Limited Closure Report will 
be due to the county in 60 days using Form 62-761.900(8).  

Closure Requirements

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-10740


Your storage tank system equipment and release detection systems must be registered 
with the department by the manufacturers and vendors of the equipment and have an 
EQ number prior to being installed in Florida.

• Storage Tank System Equipment Registration

• Storage Tank System Equipment Registration List

Storage Tank System Equipment

https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/content/storage-tank-system-equipment-registration
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/storage-tank-equipment-approvalregistration-list


• 62-761.200 Definitions – clarifying some definitions and added a new definition of “Sumps”. (pending 
adoption October 13, 2019)

• 62-761.210 Reference Guidelines – updating to newest versions of reference standards. (pending 
adoption October 13, 2019)

• 62-761.300 Applicability – updated reference guideline link. (adopted July 9, 2019)

• 62-761.400 Facility Registration – added clarifying language. (adopted July 9, 2019)

• 62-761.430 Incidents – added clarifying language and removed conflicting language regarding INFs 
being submitted. (adopted July 9, 2019)

• 62-761.850 Alternative Procedures, Equipment Registration and Registration of Operator Training 
Providers – Updated form date. (adopted July 9, 2019)

• 62-761.900 Storage Tank Forms – minimal updates to the following forms : 
o Storage Tank Facility Registration Form
o Financial Responsibility Form
o Certified Contractors Form
o Closure Integrity Form, Limited Closure Form
o Storage Tank System Equipment Registration Form. 

• Minimally updating Instructions for Conducting Sampling During Underground Storage Tank Closure, July 
2019 Edition (effective October 13, 2019)

Other Rule Changes



FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SEE THE FOLLOWING WEBSITES:

•Storage Tank Compliance

•Storage Tank System Rules, Forms and Reference Guidelines

•Storage Tank Systems Guidance and Information

•Storage Tank Facility Registration

•Financial Responsibility

•Storage Tank Contacts

Website Links

https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/content/storage-tank-compliance
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/content/storage-tank-system-rules-forms-and-reference
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/content/storage-tank-systems-guidance-and-information
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/content/storage-tank-facility-registration
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/content/storage-tank-financial-responsibility
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/storage-tank-district-and-county-contact-list


•Storage Tank Facility Registration Main: 850-245-8839
• Karen.S.Moore@floridadep.gov Environmental Administrator (EA)
• Madhuri.Madala@floridadep.gov
• Ernest.L.Stephens@floridadep.gov
• Derbra.Owete@floridadep.gov

•Storage Tank Financial Responsibility
• Tor.Bejnar@floridadep.gov 850-245-8743
• Susan.F.Eldredge@floridadep.gov 850-245-8740
• Edgar.Echevarria@floridadep.gov 850-245-8793

•Storage Tank Compliance
• Amanda.Dorsett@floridadep.gov Environmental Administrator (EA) 850-245-8931
• Kimberley.Curran@floridadep.gov 850-245-8849
• Zachary.Barrett@floridadep.gov 850-245-8769
• Elena.Compton@floridadep.gov Alternative Procedures and Technical Issues 850-245-8911

•District and County 
• https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/storage-tank-district-and-county-

contact-list

Storage Tank Contacts

mailto:Karen.S.Moore@floridadep.gov
mailto:Madhuri.Madala@floridadep.gov
mailto:Ernest.L.Stephens@floridadep.gov
mailto:Derbra.Owete@floridadep.gov
mailto:Tor.Bejnar@floridadep.gov
mailto:Susan.F.Eldredge@floridadep.gov
mailto:Edgar.Echevarria@floridadep.gov
mailto:Amanda.Dorsett@floridadep.gov
mailto:Kimberley.Curran@floridadep.gov
mailto:Zachary.Barrett@floridadep.gov
mailto:Elena.Compton@floridadep.gov
https://floridadep.gov/waste/permitting-compliance-assistance/documents/storage-tank-district-and-county-contact-list
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