Page Banner

Southwest District

Florida map with Southwest District counties highlighted

The Southwest District is home to Tampa Bay, Florida's largest open-water estuary which encompasses nearly 400 square miles.  We also enjoy a variety of scenic waterways including the Myakka River, Homosassa Springs, Hillsborough River, Manatee River, Withlacoochee River and portions of the Peace River.  The best of our coastal landscapes have been set aside for protection as aquatic preserves. Cockroach Bay, Terra Ceia, Boca Ciega Bay and Pinellas County aquatic preserves are all situated in the Southwest District.

Jurisdiction: Citrus, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas and Polk counties.

Meet the Director

Kelley M. Boatwright, Director, Southwest District

Kelley Boatwright

Kelley Boatwright has worked in the environmental industry for more than 35 years. She began her career with the Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County where she was awarded for her performance as a Certified Sterling Examiner.

Kelley joined DEP in 2012 as the Permitting Program Administrator, later becoming the District Assistant Director in 2016, where she was responsible for overseeing the district’s Compliance Assurance Program. Kelley is a native Floridian and earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of South Florida.


Southwest District Programs

Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: