Page Banner

National Estuarine Research Reserves - Guana - Tolomato - Matanzas

Guana Tolomato Matanzas National Estuarine Research Reserve (GTM Research Reserve) is dedicated to the conservation of natural biodiversity and cultural resources through research and monitoring to guide science-based stewardship and education strategies.

GTM Research Reserve protects 76,760 acres south of Jacksonville (Duval County), in St. Johns and Flagler counties on the northeast coast of Florida. It is one of the fastest-growing regions in the state. These protected areas provide habitat for a variety of fish and wildlife. A species list recently compiled for Guana River Marsh Aquatic Preserve indicated the presence of at least 44 mammal, 358 bird, 41 reptile, 21 amphibian, 303 fish and 580 plant species. The research reserve contains habitats essential to 48 protected animals and eight protected plants. GTM Research Reserve is important for the economy because, among the species identified, there are 16 species that are fished or harvested commercially and 18 species that are fished recreationally.

The GTM Research Reserve encompasses many parcels of land and water that are protected for conservation. It is named for the three rivers that tie these parcels together: Guana River, Tolomato River and Matanzas River.

Location:

St. Johns and Flagler counties

Acreage:

76,760 acres

Contact:

GTM Research Reserve 
Visitor Center 
505 Guana River Road 
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082 
904-823-4500 
Fax: 904-825-6829

Research: Nikki.Dix@FloridaDEP.gov
Education: Josephine.Spearman@FloridaDEP.gov
Coastal Training: Kaitlyn.Dietz@FloridaDEP.gov
Volunteer: Shannon.Rininger@FloridaDEP.gov
Stewardship: Allix.North@FloridaDEP.gov
Resource Management: Candace.Killian@FloridaDEP.gov
Reserve Manager: Lia.Sansom@FloridaDEP.gov
Northeast Region Program Administrator: Scott.Eastman@FloridaDEP.gov

Share:          

Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: