Page Banner

Central District

DEP's Central District encompasses over 9,000 square miles and eight counties (Brevard, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, Volusia). The district is home to:

  • 3.5 million people
  • 14 state parks
  • Five first-magnitude springs (Silver Springs, Rainbow, Silver Glen, Volusia Blue and Alexander)
  • Major industry (tourism, health care, aerospace, defense, shipping, manufacturing)
  • North America's most diverse estuary (Indian River Lagoon)

Central District implements environmental regulatory programs concerning air, water, waste, wetlands and state lands. The district's primary functions are permitting, compliance assistance, outreach and enforcement.

Meet the Director

Jeff Prather, Director, Central District

Jeff Prather has been with the Central District for over 17 years serving in various positions, including inspector, ombudsman and assistant director. In 2015, Prather was appointed by Governor Scott to the Wekiva River Basin Commission.
Prior to his work with the department, Prather worked in private industry as an environmental health and safety professional, overseeing all aspects of regulatory compliance and pollution prevention. 
Prather is a graduate of Ferris State University, earning degrees in Biology and Industrial/Environmental Health Management.


Central District Programs


Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: