Page Banner

Northwest District

Map of Florida with Northwest counties highlighted

The Northwest District, headquartered in Pensacola with branch offices in Tallahassee and Panama City, provides environmental permitting assistance, emergency response and environmental education outreach in 16 counties in the Florida Panhandle.

Famous for its stunning sugar-white beaches and beautiful emerald waters, Florida’s Panhandle attracts visitors from all over the world. The region is home to many freshwater and saltwater fishing spots as well as the source of the famed Apalachicola Bay oysters. Northwest Florida’s diverse landscape is also filled with natural springs, unique hardwood forests and fresh water rivers.

Jurisdiction: Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton and Washington counties.

Meet the Director

Elizabeth Mullins Orr, Director, Northwest District

As director of the department’s Northwest District, Elizabeth is responsible for environmental permitting, compliance, emergency response, environmental education for DEP’s regulatory programs within the 16 counties of the Florida Panhandle. 

Prior to being promoted to district director, Elizabeth served as the district’s assistant director for five years, and was responsible for overseeing the district's Compliance Assurance program. She also previously served as program administrator for the district’s Permitting program.

Elizabeth was born and raised in South Carolina and has Bachelor’s Degrees Biology and Anthropology and a Masters Degree in Environmental Studies from the College of Charleston

IMPORTANT UPDATE - Please note: The Panama City Branch Office has relocated to 2420 Jenks Ave., Suite 4-B, Panama City, FL 32405.


Northwest District Programs

Events & Public Notices

None available at this time.

Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: