Page Banner

Multi-Sector Generic Permit (MSGP)

The state of Florida Multi-Sector Generic Permit for Stormwater Discharge Associated with Industrial Activity (MSGP) divides the regulated industrial activities into 30 sectors of related activity and specifies both general and sector-specific requirements for each. The permit, developed by EPA and then adopted and renamed by DEP in October 2000, consists of the original 1995 issuance and the subsequent modifications and corrections. It is important to note that the state of Florida MSGP includes the documents listed below as well as additional requirements set forth in Rule 62-621.300(5), F.A.C.

***To determine which industrial activities are included in each sector***
review the summary sheet of
MSGP Sectors by SIC Codes and Narrative Descriptions

MSGP Original Issuance – September 29, 1995 (60 FR 50804)

Applicable to all Sectors

MSGP Correction - February 9, 1996 (61 FR 5248)

Applicable to Sectors A, C, F, N, Q, S, Y, and AA. (Amends benchmark values for Zinc.)

MSGP Correction - February 20, 1996 (61 FR 6412)

Not applicable to any sector. (Correction is applicable only to New Mexico.)

MSGP Modification - August 7, 1998 (63 FR 42534)

Applicable to Sector G. (Clarifies an interpretation of the technology-based effluent limitations applicable to point sources of "mine drainage" at active ore mining and dressing operations.)

MSGP Modification - September 30, 1998 (63 FR 52430)

Applicable to Sectors A, C, D, E, I, J, L, P, V, X, AA, and AD. (Makes several changes to the MSGP, including but not limited to: authorizing stormwater discharges from previously excluded facilities, clarifying the facilities included under Sectors X and AA, and designating Sector AD as the 30th sector – all permit information for this sector is included in this modification.)

MSGP Modification - January 19, 1999 (64 FR 2898

Applicable to Sector G. (Amends the August 7, 1998 Modification - corrects two inadvertent typographical errors)

Eleven Categories

General descriptions of the types of activities within Eleven Categories:

Category Description
Category (i) Facilities subject to federal effluent limitations or new source performance standards
Category (ii) Heavy manufacturing (e.g., Ship Building and Repair, Chemical Manufacturing, Wood Products Manufacturing)
Category (iii) Mining/oil and gas exploration
Category (iv) Hazardous waste facilities
Category (v) Landfills or open dumps
Category (vi) Recycling facilities (e.g., Salvage Yards, Auto Junk Yards, Battery Reclaimers)
Category (vii) Steam electric power generation facilities
Category (viii) Transportation facilities (e.g., Trucking, Airports, Marinas)
Category (ix) Treatment works (e.g., Domestic Wastewater Treatment Plants)

Category (x)
Large construction activity (i.e., disturbing 5 or more acres of land ). This category is regulated and permitted separately under the NPDES Stormwater Program for Construction Activity
Category (xi) Light industry (e.g., Printing, Warehousing)
Last Modified:
July 16, 2024 - 7:23am

Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: