Page Banner

Alternative Surface Water Quality Standards

Site Specific Alternative Criteria 

Site specific alternative criteria (SSAC) replace the criteria applicable statewide in cases where site specific information supports different numeric criteria. Any SSAC must fully support and protect the designated use of the waterbody. SSACs fall into three types: Type I, Type II, and Type III. Type I SSACs (Rule 62-302.800(1), F.A.C.) are established to reflect natural background conditions, such as lower dissolved oxygen levels than the statewide default criteria. Type II SSACs (Rule 62-302.800(2), F.A.C) are established for situations other than natural background conditions. Type III SSACs (Rule 62-302.800(3), F.A.C.) are limited to nutrient criteria. All types of SSACs must still fully protect the designated use of the water body.  Examples of site specific criteria include the Everglades phosphorus criterion (Rule 62-302.540, F.A.C.) and the Site Specific Alternative Criteria described in Rule 62-302.800, F.A.C.

No SSACs are currently Under Development or Pending Final Approval

Site Specific Interpretations of the Narrative Nutrient Criterion

Numeric nutrient criteria that are approved Hierarchy 1interpretations of the narrative nutrient criteria under Rule 62-302.531(2)(a), F.A.C., can include Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs), Level II Water Quality-Based Effluent Limits (WQBELs), Reasonable Assurance Plans (RAPs), and Site Specific Alternative Criteria (addressed above).

Water Quality Standards Variances

Charlotte Harbor Water Association (variance for acute toxicity)

Premier Chemicals (variance for acute toxicity)

City of Vero Beach Reverse Osmosis (variance for acute toxicity)

Contact Us

Last Modified:
June 7, 2019 - 12:59pm

Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: