Page Banner

Coral ECA: Kristin Jacobs Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area

The Southeast Florida Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area, formerly referred to as the Southeast Florida Coral Reef Initiative (SEFCRI) Region, was officially established on July 1, 2018. HB 53 passed the House on Jan. 25, 2018, and subsequently passed the Senate on Feb. 7, 2018. This conservation area, also known as the Coral ECA, includes the sovereign submerged lands and state waters offshore of Martin, Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade counties from the northern boundary of the Biscayne National Park to the St. Lucie Inlet.

On July 1, 2021, this area was renamed the Kristin Jacobs Coral Reef Ecosystem Conservation Area in honor of the late Broward County state representative. 

A map of the various management areas of along Florida's Coral Reef

Florida's Coral Reef stretches for over 350 miles, from the St. Lucie Inlet in Martin County past Key West to the Dry Tortugas. The Florida Keys portion of the reef is recognized and protected by management plans of the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary, national parks and national wildlife refuges. Prior to the designation of the Coral ECA, the northern portion of the reef was unprotected and lacking a state-adopted management plan for its future sustainability and conservation.

This section of the reef is affected by extremely high year-round usage, water quality degradation and other threats that initiated the five focus areas of the DEP Coral Reef Conservation Program and Southeast Florida Coral Reef Initiative. Visit other sections of this website to learn more about the ongoing work in the Coral ECA, and explore the Story Map below to learn about some of the exciting work conducted by our partners.

Last Modified:
May 2, 2022 - 2:57pm

Some content on this site is saved in an alternative format. The following icons link to free Reader/Viewer software:
PDF: | Word: | Excel: